Our Team

Card image cap
Professor Declan Lyons
Professor Medical Science & Consultant Physician

Mid Western Regional Hospital
061482491
declan@3bv.org

Graduate of UCD 1987 and did his house jobs at the Mater Dublin before taking an MSc in Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Aberdeen. He worked as Registrar in Medicine at Aberdeen Teaching Hospitals and took his MD thesis at The University of Aberdeen in 1992. He moved to King’s College Hospital London in 1994 as Lecturer and subsequently Senior Lecturer in Medicine for Elderly & Honorary Consultant Physician. He moved to his current post in his native Limerick in 1997. He is chairman of the Expert Advisory Group on Ageing to the HSE.

Research interests are in the areas of pharmacology of ageing and vascular pharmacology with particular clinical research interests in syncope, hypertension, nitric oxide biology, osteoporosis and osteovascular instability. Previous projects have assessed the effect of blood pressure normalisation on nitric oxide dependent vasodilatation in hypertension, the effect of ageing on nitric oxide mediated and sympathetically mediated vasoactivity, the interaction between the renin angiotensin and sympathetic nervous systems, tissue actions of ACE inhibitors and characterisation of age related vascular changes in health, hypertension and stroke. Current work has centred on the elucidation of the pathogenic mechanisms that underlie various syncopal syndromes eg orthostatic hypotension, variants of carotid sinus syndrome. More recently a common pathogenic relationship between bone strength, skeletal muscle activity and blood vessel function in old age (osteovascular instability) is the subject several studies by Prof Lyons’ group.

Card image cap
Dr Margaret O’Connor
Consultant Physician & Interim Medical Director

Mid Western Regional Hospital
margareto@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Catherine Peters
Consultant Physician

Mid Western Regional Hospital
061 301111
catherinep@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Colin Quinn
Consultant Physician

Mid Western Regional Hospital
061 301111
colin@3bv.org

Card image cap
Aine Costello
Clinical Nurse Manager II

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
aine@3bv.org

Card image cap
Tina Sheehy
Clinical Nurse Specialist Functional Gerontology

Clinical Age Assesment Unit
061 482623
tina@3bv.org

Card image cap
Sheila Ryan
Candidate ANP, Older Person Services

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
061 482623
sheila@3bv.org

Card image cap
Caroline Ryan
Clinical Nurse Specialist Bone Health

Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus
061 483651
caroliner@3bv.org

Card image cap
Rosemary O’Riordan
Clinical Nurse Manager III, Stroke Rehab

St Camillus Hospital
061 483640
rehab@3bv.org

Card image cap
Pamela Greaney
Secretary to CAAU

Mid Western Regional Hospital
061 485141
pamela@3bv.org

Card image cap
Liz McCormack
Secretary to Dr Margaret O Connor

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
061 482263
liz@3bv.org

Card image cap
Madeleine Timmons
Secretary to Prof Lyons

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
061482491
test@hse.ie

Card image cap
Mary Griffin
Clinical Nurse Manager II

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
maryg@3bv.org

Card image cap
Nora Cunningham
Candidate ANP, Older Person Services

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
norac@3bv.org

Card image cap
Rachel Larke
Candidate ANP, Older Person Services

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
rachell@3bv.org

Card image cap
Marie O Grady
Senior Staff Nurse

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
marieo@3bv.org

Card image cap
Mary Humphries
Senior Staff Nurse

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
maryh@3bv.org

Card image cap
Siobhan McMullen
Secretary to Dr Catherine Peters

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
siobhanm@3bv.org

Card image cap
Aoife Cusack
Secretary to Dr Colin Quinn

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
aoifec@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Azrin Muslim
Registrar (Prof Lyons)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
azrinm@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Nur Atikah Mohd Asri
Registrar (Dr Margaret O Connor)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
nura@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Christine McCarthy
Specialist Registrar (Prof Lyons)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
cmc@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Ronan O Toole
Specialist Registrar (Dr Colin Quinn)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
ronan@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Aqueel Qureshi
Registrar (Dr Catherine Peters)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
aqueel@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr David Hanlon
Registrar (Dr Catherine Peters)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
davidh@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Amrita Roy
Registrar (Dr Catherine Peters)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
amrita@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Olga Samafalava
Registrar (Prof Lyons/IT Research)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
olga@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Shahril Hashim
Registrar (Stroke)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
shahril@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Danial Zulkifli
Registrar (Frailty)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
danial@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Aoife Leahy
Specialist Registrar (Dr Margaret O Connor)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
aoifel@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Ahmed Gabr
Registrar (Dr Margaret O Connor)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
ahmedg@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Lucy Chapman
Registrar (Prof Lyons)

CAAU, University Hospital Limerick
lucyc@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr John McManus
Consultant Physician

Acute Medical Unit, UHL
johnmc@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Diarmuid Hilton
Consultant Physician

Acute Medical Unit, UHL
diarmuidh@3bv.org

Card image cap
Dr Jude Ryan
Consultant Physician

Acute Medical Unit, UHL
juder@3bv.org

Card image cap
Professor Michael Watts
Consultant Physician

Acute Medical Unit, UHL
michaelw@3bv.org